ABOUT US

Roger Hicks -- the author, the one it means when the text says 'I' -- is a Cornishman who has lived in Malta, Bermuda, the United States and France. I was born in 1950 -- there's no sense in trying to pretend I'm younger than I am, even if it puts off some of my younger readers -- and I learned to ride in Bermuda in 1966. Long before that I had ridden on the backs of my uncles' bikes. I'm not a born-again motorcyclist: I never stopped.

Since 1981 I've been a full-time freelance writer and photographer. Before that, I did a lot of the things that writers and journalists do while they are trying to find out what they want to do when they grow up. I've got a law degree; I'm a qualified teacher; I've worked in advertising photography, and audio-visual production, and accountancy; I've written computer manuals.

My best qualification for writing this is that I've done a lot of motorcycle touring over the years. More than 100,000 miles of it has been on the same 1978 BMW R100RS that I still ride today. I've also done a good few thousand miles on other machines, mostly BMW (old and new) but also, in India, on Enfield Bullets.

In 1982 I married Frances Schultz. If the text says 'we', it means Frances and me. She took up riding a couple of years after we met. She was looking at her reflection in the back of my helmet, in Portugal, and she thought, " I wonder how I'd look, riding one of these things." She has owned Hondas and Moto Guzzis (currently Honda) but she has also ridden BMWs and Bullets. We have ridden together in much of Europe, in India and in the United States.

Her background is in theatre (B.A., University of Southern California, M.A., Cal State Long Beach) but she is best known today as a leading writer on photographic darkroom techniques, hand colouring, and other aspects of photography. She was born in upstate New York but moved to California in her 'teens.

Frances is co-author of many of my books, and by rights, she should have been credited as co-author of the original Motorcycle Touring in Europe (Collins, 1985). The main reason this site is written in the first person is that it's easier to write that way, and easier for the reader to relate to. But everything you read here owes a lot to Frances.

Then there's Karl, Frances's brother. Like me, he started riding in his 'teens and has stayed at the party. He put the site together, based on my text, but with a lot of suggestions of his own. Like Frances, he was born in upstate New York but moved to California in his 20s. His background is in automotive engineering (and music) but today he is a Microsoft-approved computer software expert. Most of his riding experience has been in the United States (Harley-Davidson, AJS, Enfield, Moto-Guzzi, and now BMW) but he also owns a house in Mexico and is working hard on extending his touring credentials in Europe and Asia.

To learn more about us, please visit our website at rogerandfrances.com.

Go to the Home Page

or support the site with a small donation.

 

 

last updated: 27/10/03

© 2003 Roger W. Hicks